Hi gang - newbie here with tire questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2012, 09:07 AM
Jawjah G

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi gang - newbie here with tire questions

I bought my 2008 G37 last week! I'm so excited and it's the best car I've ever owned. Its a silver S with sport, premium, and nav packages.

The car has 27k miles and came with a set of staggered RUFF Racing 20 inch wheels with very low profile tires. It drives awesome and sticks to the road like paint.

I want to keep these wheels, but does it make sense to get a set of 18 or 19 inch wheels that I can run cheaper tires on or maybe even not staggered ones so I can rotate them front to back like I've always done on other vehicles. Is it a bad idea to think about running 4 of the 19 inch fronts that come on sport versions, or 4 of the 19 inch rears? Maybe 4 of the 18's? Also wondering if 18 inch wheels from a g35 will fit my g37.

This is my first performance car, and I'm not pinched for funds, just wondering if any of you have ever run a more practical set of wheels/tires and what those combinations are/were.

Looking forward to learning a lot from you guys. Any tips you can offer as far as g-ownership will be much appreciated.

Thanks to whoever is responsible that this site is here!

Last edited by Jawjah G; 01-17-2012 at 09:17 AM.
Old 01-17-2012, 11:32 AM
BluestickG

Received 37 Likes on 34 Posts
Nice welcome to myg37! In my opinion if funds are not an issue i would either stay with your 20's and just buy the expensive tires, especially if you like them. or sell your 20's for a set of nice aftermarket 19's. I wouldnt get OEM wheels unless you can find em cheap used or you need winter wheel setup.
Old 01-17-2012, 11:46 AM
Black Betty
Lexus Defector

Received 2,087 Likes on 1,267 Posts
Welcome to the forum and congrats.