'09 G37 Sedan Tire Question - No Ventus V12s in my Front Size

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2011, 11:13 PM
loarmistead

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'09 G37 Sedan Tire Question - No Ventus V12s in my Front Size

My factory Potenzas are on their last leg, and after reading a lot of tire reviews and seeing what great things folks have to say about the Hankook Ventus V12s, I was really looking forward to buying a set.

I have the "Sport" package on my sedan with the 18" wheels. My current Potenzas are:

Front - 225/50 R18
Rear- 245/45 R18

I see that the Ventus V12s come in my rear size - "245/45ZR18" - but they don't appear to come in my front tire size.

I'm no expert on "plus zero"ing my tires, so as far as that goes I'm clueless. I was just a little bummed to see that the tires I had spent so long researching aren't available in my Front size. Is there a way to "plus zero" my tires in order to get a set that fit Front & Rear, or do I need to look at a different tire? Recommendations are greatly appreciated!
Old 08-03-2011, 11:33 PM
yogregb

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
240/45 frt and 275/40 rear, I think. Try neal at tire rack,he'll set you up
Old 08-04-2011, 12:48 AM
loarmistead

Originally Posted by yogregb
240/45 frt and 275/40 rear, I think. Try neal at tire rack,he'll set you up
Thanks. I sent him an e-mail. For posterity I'll report back with his response.
Old 08-04-2011, 06:32 PM
loarmistead

Neal hath responded:

Thank you for your inquiry to the Tire Rack. Many people will move into the same size for availability and rotation options. You would have no problem using a 245/45-18 all around which is what I would recommend. You'll have better steering response and dry traction with that as well.
This is news to me... if it's better to have the same size tire on front and rear, why did Infiniti bother putting different sizes on front and rear from the factory? Thoughts?
Old 08-04-2011, 07:58 PM
pdxg37s

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts