Newbie Corner New Members Corner! - If you're new to MyG37.com, please take a moment to check in, introduce yourself and show us your G37!

Help with changing lanes

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2010, 05:47 PM
limegreen25

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with changing lanes

Hi everyone

I am a new driver and I need the advice of expert drivers with merging onto highway and changing lanes.
I learned from a driving school that the proper steps for changing lanes are (1)check rearview and sideview mirror; (2) signal; (3) shoulder check; (4) carefully move into the intended lane.

But on a road with more than 3 lanes I need to check the traffic in 2 or 3 lanes over driving at the same speed as me to make sure nobody is coming into the same spot. I kept asking my driving instructor about this a couple of times but all he said was just do a shoulder check and I don't need worry too much about the traffic in 2 or 3 lanes over.

My question is am I supposed to check 2 or 3 lanes over after I check my sideview mirror or after I do a shoulder check?
And I can use the same technique when merging onto a freeway, aren't I?

Thanks.
Old 04-13-2010, 05:59 PM
hispeed-lowdrag
Registered Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
...just put your blinker on and look over your shoulder. with peripheral vision you should be able to see the entire road. If it looks like someone's too close then hit the gas and go in front of them

and please for the love of God don't be one of the people who slows down on highway on-ramps and wait for a spot to go...they are made so you can accelerate to highway speed and merge at speed
Old 04-13-2010, 10:03 PM
LSUtigerME