Motorsports / Track Th ultimate forum to discuss motorsports / track related topics for your G37.

Rev matching in 6mt

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2008, 11:25 PM
vinnys coupe

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Rev matching in 6mt

Whats up guys, my brake in period is just about up so i need to kno how to down shift to what at what rpms. just incase some1 ever creeps up...So i would like your help with the rpm matching that would be great..

Secondly when ever i shift it seems like i lose power, how do you shift without loosing power? am i doing it so slow or wha? should i not push it in all the way and maybe just tap the clutch? what should i do im new to the stick game lol.. anything would be perfect..

Also any tips on launch would help as well. Thanks alot guys
Old 03-20-2008, 11:28 PM
mal_TX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shift like these guys...

http://www.dailymotion.com/search/bm...4_%3Cbr%3Eauto
Old 03-20-2008, 11:43 PM
vinnys coupe

seen it, i wish i knew how.. some1 help please dnt mess up the thread.. only post on seriosus note..
Old 03-21-2008, 11:42 PM
SPOHN
From Z to G

Rev matching takes some practice from one down shift to another. Going two gears is a big difference. You just have to learn to feel for it. Hard to describe. It's all about a fineness of blipping the throttle to position the revs for the next gear down. Giving it a smooth transition from gear to gear.Blipping the throttle is sort of like a short aggressive jab at the throttle to spike the revs up to be in postion for the next lower gear. I hope you get this. It's real hard to put in words. But takes time. With the G I had to relearn it a bit, coming from a Z. But that's a different story. The Z is just more free revving. When learned you'll find yourself doing this more to slow your ride and use less brakes. And of course getting ready to gear down waiting for someone coming up in your mirror.