General Tech Questions Scheduled maintenance, Tune-ups Oil changes, service bulletins and other FAQs for the G37

Blower motor not running after cabin leak

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2024, 06:02 PM
TheFacey

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Blower motor not running after cabin leak

I own a 2010 G37 Convertible and recently the blower stopped working mid-drive.This is my first time doing any sort of self-diagnostics or working with electric/a multimeter, so I am hoping someone can point me to the next steps. Below is a summary of the issue and what I have tried so far:

1. The control panel continues to function, and the air gets cold, but the blower does not activate. The two 15A blower fuses were blown, so I replaced them, and they blew as soon as the car turned on. I discovered a leak from the windshield cowl which dripped directly through the cabin air intake and into the blower motor. Once I fixed the leak in the cowl and dried the blower motor, I replaced the fuses and they no longer blow when the car is turned on.

2. I've disconnected and tested the blower fan with wires connected to the battery and it seems to function properly, though there is visible rust from the water leaking. I tested the connectors which plug into the blower motor, and I believe they are good (my first time using a multimeter, so basing this off of what i've seen in youtube videos).

3. I pulled out the relay behind the fuses and it clicks when connected to a battery, and I believe there is continuity when powered (set the multimeter to ohms and got a reading between 0 and 1).