General Tech Questions Scheduled maintenance, Tune-ups Oil changes, service bulletins and other FAQs for the G37

Teach me how to drive my 6MT

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2009, 03:52 PM
teekaywhy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Teach me how to drive my 6MT

First, at the risk of sounding like a complete tool, I'm putting this post up to protect my investment and a burned out clutch. I know I will get blasted for this post but honest to goodness, I need some advice. Read on.

I'm not a 16 year old kid who learned to drive yesterday. I've been driving for the last 16 years and taught myself how to drive a manual tranny on a beat up 90 Hyundai. Needless to say, the clutch wasn't exactly new and I could get away with sloppy driving. That was 3 years ago.

Fast forward to today. I'm the proud owner of an '08 G37 6MT. This is my fourth car but first since the Sonata with the stick.

My problem is this. When I shift from 1-2 and sometimes from 2-3 around 2500 RPMs, the car jerks slightly like I made a bad shift. I can't figure it out and it's driving me nuts.
Do I need to apply a little gas when coming off the clutch or do I need to get the RPMs up a little higher before shifting?

In fact, if anyone is so inclined, I would love to read a brief description on how to properly shift!!! HELP! PM or Email is fine too!

T
Old 08-24-2009, 04:32 PM
Black Betty
Lexus Defector

Received 2,087 Likes on 1,267 Posts
The tranny on our cars is just like that, you're not necessarily driving it badly. If you ease out of the clutch pedal a bit more slowly and smoothly (ride it a little) it helps with this. One of the best things you can do it so adjust the clutch pedal to make it a little more forgiving and help you avoid the lurch when starting off in 1st and between gears.

There is a thread here on how to adjust the clutch pedal engagement point.

Welcome.
Old 08-24-2009, 04:34 PM
pfizzle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts