General Tech Questions Scheduled maintenance, Tune-ups Oil changes, service bulletins and other FAQs for the G37

Help Do i have to change my OIl?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2009, 02:11 PM
jnguyen

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Do i have to change my OIl?

hey I im a noob when it comes to maintenance. I been using Royal Purple SAE 5W30 oil since i bought my car. I change my oil every 3k miles exactly and if not then before. I finally just hit 12k yesturday and going to change my oil again. I was wondering if i should be using a different oil or change to a diff oil. I always hear people say when you get to a certain mile, you change up your oil to something else but i dont know what that is.
Old 03-19-2009, 02:15 PM
aliiin
BMW Defector

Received 16 Likes on 10 Posts
oh synthetic? hehe there's too many theories out there, we'll have the experts chime in shortly
Old 03-19-2009, 02:22 PM
DashKid
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
well if you read the manuel it says our car need full syntheic oil so I'm guessing we need it everything we change our oil.
Old 03-19-2009, 02:23 PM
jnguyen

Originally Posted by aliiin
oh synthetic? hehe there's too many theories out there, we'll have the experts chime in shortly
um i think so hahah. i dont know, hopefully expert do chime in
Old 03-19-2009, 02:24 PM
jnguyen

Originally Posted by DashKid
well if you read the manuel it says our car need full syntheic oil so I'm guessing we need it everything we change our oil.
really? the only reason im using Royal Purple SAE 5w30 is cause i called the dealership and they told me they use Mobil 1 5w30 at the dealership for all oil change so i just got Royal Purple 5w30 cause its the same Heat temperature or whatever and a better name
Old 03-19-2009, 02:31 PM
Black Betty
Lexus Defector

Received 2,087 Likes on 1,267 Posts