G37 Sedan

Suspicious G37 Sedan Mod

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2021, 02:20 AM
Gillan
Registered Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Question Suspicious G37 Sedan Mod

So I was browsing around for a potential G37 daily driver on Copart and IAAI when I came across a moderately modified 2011 G37 Sedan. The mod that really caught my attention was some strange little black box either screwed or glued to the center console, which had a wire that was soldered to a logic board with multiple wires soldered to it. Some of the wires were funneled through the center console and to the back seat footwells, where they were presumably fed underneath the carpeting and grounded to bare metal. I'm not an electrical engineer though, so I have no clue what it could possibly be. Also, some of those wires went to the front passenger footwell and it just becomes even more confusing and suspicious the more I look at the pictures. The reason why I'm asking about this is because I won the car and now I'm feeling really anxious not knowing what it is. Any answers or even guesses as to what the purpose of those wires are would be much appreciated. Also, sorry for the not so clear screenshots. My tow guy is picking it up next week so I can't upload any clear close up shots yet.

UPDATE:
I just got the car and checked out the wires, they are indeed for RGB footwell lighting.
Check out this link for part 2

Last edited by Gillan; 08-31-2021 at 05:45 PM.
Old 08-28-2021, 09:03 AM
ILM-NC G37S
Registered Member

Received 1,323 Likes on 1,073 Posts
Without a visual inspection or other confirmation we are all flying blind here.

If I were to venture a guess, being that the wires appear to go to each footwell area: they could be a "poor man's" ambient/ footwell LED lighting kit.

Whatever it is, that wiring job is absolute crap. Be interesting to see what those wires actually are...
The following users liked this post:
Gillan (08-28-2021)
Old 08-28-2021, 11:18 AM
Madden_07
Registered Member