G37 Sedan

Sedan Chat Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2023, 09:14 AM
STownSaint
Registered Member

Received 325 Likes on 249 Posts
Ok, so I’ve decided that I’m going to take the “sunroof drain reroute to A/C drain” method of permanently fixing the issues with those firewall grommets that 1) fail and let water leak back into the cabin/all over electronics and 2) are a pretty big pain to access.

Asked a few regular shops around my way to see if they’d being willing to do this (I provide all the materials), and they all kinda looked at me like I’m crazy. Tricky to explain the issue and need for the homegrown fix to these guys (some don’t speak English as first language)

Are most people just doing this type of project themselves? Anyone know a shop that would be open to this work in the DMV area? This project seems kinda easy, but I’m not experienced with taking apart and putting back together interior panels. Am I overthinking it? Should I be able to pull this job off, without ever opening up A pillars, dashboard panels, etc?.

Rain season is coming up quickly, gotta knock out this one ASAP
Old 03-30-2023, 09:31 AM
Rochester
Administrator

Received 4,645 Likes on 3,475 Posts
That's a great video! Anyone can totally DIY that project.

I know there's a sunroof drain issue with the G, but I never really paid a lot of attention to the problem. I think because I almost never open my sunroof, and for that matter rarely drive in the rain. So is the problem simply the age of the rubber & plastic materials giving out over the years, or is it that combined with typical use of the car in the rain with the sunroof closed? In other words, how "inevitable" is this for garage queen?
Old 03-30-2023, 09:48 AM
Rochester
Administrator

@ToXIc made this video where he talks about using warm soapy water and compressed air to maintain the drain lines.

It's a pretty good video.

Last edited by Rochester; 03-30-2023 at 11:07 AM.
The following users liked this post:
ToXIc (03-30-2023)