G37 Sedan

Sedan Chat Thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2022, 10:27 AM
ILM-NC G37S
Registered Member

Received 1,277 Likes on 1,033 Posts
Originally Posted by BULL
Well this is my first time seeing headlight washers in a sedan!
It is nothing more than the addition of some tubing which gets spliced into the windshield washer pump and a nozzle for each headlamp:

It is nothing like the old Mercs that had actual wipers for the headlamps...

Funny how Europe and Japan gets all of the extra "goodies."
Old 10-07-2022, 10:35 AM
Rochester
Administrator

Received 4,643 Likes on 3,474 Posts
When our first kid was born, (22 years ago, LOL) we bought a brand new Volvo S40. And that little car had wiper blades on the headlights. Seemed kind of pretentious... still does.

Great little car, solid as a rock. Although the engine was replaced (!!!) in the first year, and by the second year the hood and trunk had noticeable rust. Yes, rust.

We got rid of it as soon as we could, and bought a minivan from Mazda.

Last edited by Rochester; 10-07-2022 at 10:48 AM.
Old 10-07-2022, 11:00 AM
ILM-NC G37S
Registered Member

Pretentious, probably, but with a little "practicality" mixed in. We had them on one of our old Mercs (too long/ don't remember). At least the wipers were, arguably, effective at keeping the snow/ slush cleared. The idea of spraying windshield ("blinker" ) fluid seems totally useless to me. I had wondered if such a system was a EU requirement, like the rear fog lamp, but am guessing not as all models would have them or something similar... ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Needless to say most of those gimmicks are long gone... and so are the cars.

Last edited by ILM-NC G37S; 10-07-2022 at 11:20 AM.
Old 10-08-2022, 12:10 PM
STownSaint
Registered Member

Received 325 Likes on 249 Posts
Only at 45k miles but parked outdoors for the last 5 years or so, so my headlights were getting yellowed and foggy, especially along the edges.