G37 Sedan

G37 Shopping questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2010, 09:16 PM
Ibanez540r

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
G37 Shopping questions

So I've been lurking around the site quite some time now, learning as much as possible as far as packages etc. and have everything down. I know for sure I want navigation and sport in an automatic, but am up in the air whether or not to get the Xs or just S.

I do live in Northeast Ohio with quite a bit of snow and originally was set on the Xs, but after finding an S for a great price and thinking about the added suspension, brakes, LSD, etc. I'm tossed. I know many of you are going to swear by the X for snow, and I believe you, but I am a self proclaimed excellent driver and also drive rear wheel all day for work, and with snow tires don't think it would be that big of a deal with RWD. So opinions appreciated?

Secondly, the S is out of state since NO ONE carries anything but AWD around here, I have no way of test driving an S to see just how stiff it is. For those of you with them, or have driven them, how's the ride compared to an X or journey??? Rough and jarring, just right, etc. ?? I had looked at an 07 Acura TL type S prior to getting turned onto the G, and all type S's have sports suspension and thought it WAS a little rough for daily driving... maybe. lol

Just need some assistance deciding which way to go.. Thanks.
Old 12-27-2010, 10:03 PM
rks
Registered Member

Received 49 Likes on 41 Posts
I came from a 2002 Maxima that needed new shocks/struts and the "S" is definitely stiffer but I like it. My wife is okay with it, the kids just want me to drive faster. I tested a TL-S a long time ago and I don't remember it being too rough.

We have had a little snow here and my Michelin X-Ice2s have be fantastic. We chose the 6mt because neither my wife nor I like the paddleomatic.
Old 12-27-2010, 10:48 PM
HappyG

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
For northeast region, I strongly recommend Xs.
Old 12-27-2010, 11:26 PM
gee wiz