G37 Coupe
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Looking to cut weight what I'd the best ways to do?

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2017, 08:55 PM
SquadRobo
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking to cut weight what I'd the best ways to do?

I want to reduce the weight was thinking I should start with lighter wheels. Anyone have any ideas to the best way to lighten my 08g37s coupe
Old 03-09-2017, 08:59 PM
micafd3s

Received 114 Likes on 102 Posts
driver mod... hit the gym
not sure you can lose much without starting to sacrifice things...
my suggestion... work on getting more power to offset the weight... go FI
Old 03-09-2017, 09:06 PM
SquadRobo
Registered Member

Haha you funny I'm in shape hit the gym 3 times a week but that doesn't really answer my question... But thanks for replying... I'm fairly new to the G family my first one and only had it for 3 months
Old 03-09-2017, 09:42 PM
Ape Factory
Registered Member

Received 322 Likes on 231 Posts
-Aftermarket exhaust system (titanium best) from the headers back
-Wheels
-Certain tires in certain sizes offer a weight loss vs. OEM
-Two piece rotors (Z1 Motorsports)
-Aftermarket lightweight seats
-Rear seat delete
-Lithium battery
-Full true-type coilover setup

You're really not going to loose much weight from say a carbon hood or rear trunk as the OEM pieces don't weigh much and most of the aftermarket stuff is wet-laid and thus heavy. After the above, there's not much else you can do but jettison things like the electronics, carpet or start cutting metal bits off the car.
Old 03-09-2017, 09:49 PM
SquadRobo
Registered Member

Originally Posted by Ape Factory
-Aftermarket exhaust system (titanium best) from the headers back
-Wheels
-Certain tires in certain sizes offer a weight loss vs. OEM
-Two piece rotors (Z1 Motorsports)
-Aftermarket lightweight seats
-Rear seat delete
-Lithium battery
-Full true-type coilover setup