Sponsored By:

Royal Purple Oil, 5w30

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2014, 07:00 PM
ExoDus3252

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Royal Purple Oil, 5w30

Quick question in regards to this oil.

I just went to a shop to have them change the oil. I bought a 5 quart jug of Royal Purple for them to put in. I checked the dip stick as soon as I got home, roughly 5 miles later, and there really isn't any hint of purple whatsoever on the oil. Just an amber color.

Question is, how long does it stay purple? And should I be heading back up there and throwing a **** fit because they took my oil and put in their garbage?
The following users liked this post:
BeachmanQ60 (05-31-2014)
Old 05-31-2014, 07:12 PM
Pms1212

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not long at all..10-15 minutes after driving,,,it looks reg.oil
Old 05-31-2014, 07:26 PM
ExoDus3252

Interesting. I've read other posts that others mentioned retaining the purple color for up to a few hundred miles. This is my first time switching to RP, though.

I am concerned only because the techs looked like high school dropouts who didn't give a damn about people's cars.

Oh, and also because the techs stained my driver side floor mats with grease while they were at it.
Old 05-31-2014, 07:45 PM
warped ideas
A quarter past stripped

Received 374 Likes on 178 Posts
Originally Posted by ExoDus3252
Interesting. I've read other posts that others mentioned retaining the purple color for up to a few hundred miles. This is my first time switching to RP, though.

I am concerned only because the techs looked like high school dropouts who didn't give a damn about people's cars.

Oh, and also because the techs stained my driver side floor mats with grease while they were at it.
Do your own oil changes first off..... Secondly, I'd be hella angry if my carpet was stained. That's more worth b!tching about then the oil.
Old 05-31-2014, 07:56 PM
2008G-Man

Received 167 Likes on 139 Posts