Sponsored By:

New G37 owner, probably shouldn't have bought the car

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2013, 03:40 PM
twang86

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New G37 owner, probably shouldn't have bought the car

Hey everyone.

Last Saturday I bought a used 2008 infiniti G37S 6MT with about 36000 miles on it for a pretty decent price at a dealer in New York. I had to drive about 5 hours to get there so I guess I wasn't as thorough as I could have been when inspecting the car. The car came with a clean carfax so I wasn't worried about it being in an accident.

Now that I drove it around for a while I am noticing a bunch of problems with the car. The main ones are

1. When braking at above 60 MPH, the steering wheel vibrates
2. When pushing the clutch in, I can hear a rattling noise.
3. I didn't notice this when inspecting the car, but front bumper not completely flush with the headlights(will post a picture soon)

My question is, are these problems very serious? This is my first time buying a used car, so I'm not sure where I could go to have these problems fixed. Should I go to a dealer or just any auto repair shop. And is the car still under warranty at this point?

Thanks in advance for all your answers.
Old 11-06-2013, 03:47 PM
GoFightNguyen
Because Racecar

Received 749 Likes on 356 Posts
Now that I drove it around for a while I am noticing a bunch of problems with the car. The main ones are

1. When braking at above 60 MPH, the steering wheel vibrates
You probably need to get your rotors resurfaced. It's a known issue that happens sometimes. Fixable.
2. When pushing the clutch in, I can hear a rattling noise.
The 6MT has a history of having issues. It's hit or miss, upgrade with the RJM clutch kit and it'll be fixed + better than new.
3. I didn't notice this when inspecting the car, but front bumper not completely flush with the headlights(will post a picture soon)