Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Tint on the G37

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2009, 12:59 PM
boostard

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Tint on the G37

The first thing I am going to do to the car (and one of the only things until the warranty runs out) is to tint the windows.

Now, I live in CA, so anything less then "70%" on the front two windows is illegal... however Ive been driving here for the past 11 years with cars that have darker (~40%) front tint and have never even had so much as a warning about it (and I've been pulled over plenty, believe me)... so this isn't THAT much of a concern.

What IS a concern, however, is the woman. Specifically being, that she sometimes drives the car and I would feel pretty bad if for some reason she DID get busted for having too dark of a tint. Given that reason, I think instead of getting a very dark rear 3 and somewhat dark front 2 tinting job like I have done on my previous 3 cars, I am going to get a medium to medium-light tint all the way around, keeping all 5 windows the same shade.

This is where my question comes in. What % should I be looking at? I want any officers to be able to see into the car if they walk up to it (given that this is the main reason for the tinting regulations) or when I am driving by, yet at the same time I want to cut down on heat and UV/IR light as much as possible, while complementing the black color scheme of the vehicle (e.g. not too light).

I've looked at the descriptions online and have seen the samples of the tint put up on a wall, but it is hard to tell how this will look when actually on the car. Soooo... if anyone has some practical experience with this (or better yet, pictures), I would love to hear from you.

Oh, and if it matters, the interior is stone with black floor mats... and the place I take my cars to uses Johnson GreyStone & 3M window film.

-Joe
Old 05-27-2009, 02:48 PM
sbmwg37s

Received 1 Like on 1 Post