Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

Clutch acting up in hot temperatures

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2012, 09:28 PM
indowanksta88
Registered Member

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
Clutch acting up in hot temperatures

Watsup fellow G37'ers

So in the last two months I had my clutch system replaced with Southbend heavy duty CSC, southbend stage 2 daily clutch, southbend light weight flywheel. I also had the master slave cylinder replaced since the car broke down again. The car drives really well in normal temperature days. Unfortunetly, on days like today (108 degrees in Corona, CA), my clutch has no pressure the first couple inches and will only engage into gear at the bottom and clutch will have no pressure the rest of the way up. I tried to explain the situation in the best possible way without sounding like a complete nOOb.

My thoughts are that there is possibly air in the lines that is causing this situation. In the mornings when I am driving to work, the car drives beautifully. From my point of view, on very hot days, the lines will tend to expand in heat causing the air bubbles in the lines to build up which results in a loss in clutch pressure. I wanted to get your guys' opinion on this situation.

Someone please help me!

Thank you!
Old 09-14-2012, 11:55 PM
JSolo
Just say no!!!!!

Received 590 Likes on 494 Posts
Try bleeding it by cracking the fitting at the master while someone holds the pedal to the floor. Open the fitting very slowly and just slightly. Wrap the area with a towel as you'll get brake fluid spray.
Old 09-16-2012, 04:14 PM
bythabay
Registered Member

Received 42 Likes on 25 Posts
Those systems with the CSC can be a real pain in the *** to bleed... good luck - let us know how it turns out.
Old 09-16-2012, 10:11 PM
Elperuano

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts