Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

Help Lag when flooring a stock 7AT G37x at highway speeds?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2010, 09:45 AM
virus372841

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lag when flooring a stock 7AT G37x at highway speeds?

Hi guys,
I'm still learning how best to maximize the performance on my new G37x, and am running into a unique issue... Looking for some input.

So here's what I've discovered..

If I'm on the highway doing 50 mph, and I floor the 7AT (not in 'manual' mode, in full auto), two things happen:
  1. If I control the rpms with my foot, by letting the car hit the sweet spot in rpm (5500 on mine), the car bolts forward and accelerates like a mad-man.
  2. If I don't control the acceleration carefully and miss the sweet spot at 5500 rpm, there is a noticeable drop-off in torque, and the revs hang around 6000~6300 rpm for a couple of seconds before the car drops to a lower gear, and only then does it accelerate (albeit slower than #1).
Is #2 normal in other G37x 7AT's?

Help!?
And thank you
Old 06-11-2010, 10:01 AM
Marc Collins

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
What do you mean "control the rpms with your foot?" Do you mean you are no longer florring the throttle? That your G accelerates faster by shifting at 5500 rpm with part throttle than by flooring it and letting the rpms rise?

By the way, if you are flooring the throttle, the engine will go far above 6,000-6,300 rpm before shifting. It should run right to the redline at 7,500.

There must be something wrong with your car assuming you are actually flooring it. Or, if the mileage is very low, it is still in break-in mode. Not sure if Infiniti uses this (other manufacturers do), but the characteristics you are describing would fit it.
Old 06-11-2010, 10:30 AM
virus372841

Originally Posted by Marc Collins