Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

How to use Manual-Trans Mode for G37-RWD-Sedan?

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2009, 09:22 PM
timcodon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How to use Manual-Trans Mode for G37-RWD-Sedan?

timcodon - I just got this G37-Sedan recently. I used to drive a stick-shift only cars, where I have to use my left-foot for the clutch, and my right-hand for the stick. But I am very new to this automatic / manual transmission on the G37. I read the manual, and tried to switch between auto and manual. In the city-traffic, I tried to drive in "D", "DS", and M modes. But in "Manual-mode" I had hard time trying to time when I should push-up to switch to higher gears, and when I'm stopping, I just let the down-shift to occur on its own. Later, I found I better just use "D" in city, then when I get to high-way, while the car is still drivign fast, I would switch to "Manual", so I push to the 7th gear.

Why I want to do this? on a 300-miles long round-trip, when I drove in M-mode (of course in 7th gear), I got 31.5mpg. On my way back, I used "D", I got only 28.4mpg. So I would like to acheive its maximum potential benefit: don't have to deal /w manual in traffic, but want to get max mph when it's on highway.

Q: I wonder, if there is anyone out there doing what I "plan to do". And whether, if it's safe/ok to drive this way as a routine or will this create more wear-n-tear on my transmission than trying to get better gas milage?

Anyone has an opinion? BTW, my city/hwy combined, I got around 19, so that's why I try to find ways to raise to 20-21 (combined).
Old 05-25-2009, 09:32 PM
RedG37SNC

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts