Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

What is this....the 5th CEL?

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2009, 11:18 AM
Graham
Premier Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
What is this....the 5th CEL?

So I haven't really mentioned it much, but my G is plagued by this reoccuring CEL for an Evaporative Fuel Leak. The car has been in there 4 times now for this, and all they tell me it make sure to click your gas cap a couple time.

I F-IN KNOW TO MAKE SURE THE GAS CAP IS TIGHT!!!!!

They think this is my first time or something. I've told the dealerships repeatedly that I know to tighten the gas cap. The last time they gave me a new gas cap. The last time my car was in for this problem was Tuesday, so I'm driving back to OC yesterday, and look down to my cluster, and see the F-in CEL on again.

So I'm taking the car in again today, but I'm calling Infiniti Customer Service first. It's such and insignificant problem, but the fact that they can't fix it has me so far as to contemplating calling a Lemon Law Lawyer.

Some one had posted that this problem could be caused by another part failing inside the gas tank, some type of sensor burns out or something from getting less than 91 Octane, which I think when gas was around 4.90 a gallon out here, I may have pumped a lower octane a few times.

Anyone know what I'm refering to?
Old 03-12-2009, 11:55 AM
Gamedog
Sam Rothstein

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
I doubt running a lower octane a few times would do that man. Do they check the Oxygen sensors when you take it in? You might have a faulty sensor or something Or maybe it's something to do with your fuel delivery system. Maybe the fuel level sensor or fuel pump

I'm just throwin some possibilities out there bro.
Old 03-12-2009, 12:06 PM
Graham
Premier Member