Car Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Mothers California Gold Synthetic Wax Not for Me

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2013, 09:38 PM
CharlieMac646

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Mothers California Gold Synthetic Wax Not for Me

First off I am by no means a pro detailer. It was decent day this past weekend so I decided on a spring detail. I started with the interior and made my way outside. I washed with my power washer to get residual salt and debris from the wheel wells. I used dawn which was a tip from my body man to remove residual wax from last season. I then proceeded with a clay bar until it was as smooth as possible. I then used Mothers California Gold wash with a microfiber wash mitt. I then dried and proceeded with waxing. Everything went well it came on nicely, I went to a meet later that night the temperature fell to about 43degrees and everything was fine then I noticed the dust. It was a lot of dust as if it had been sitting for days. I was at the meet less than an hour, fine I used a microfiber towel and Meguiars quick detailer. Just my luck it rained the next night and again last night. Both nights I was parked outside. I take a look at the car today and it was filled with water spots and dirt. This is not the first time I have used the wax and it came out with this way after rain. I think I need to try another brand I keep it simple and buy my car wash products from pep-boys or autozone so any tips on another brand or wax that stands up to the rain? I have 3M paste wax but it takes a bit of time to put on and remove. I am open to all tips.

Thanks in advance
Charlie
Old 04-03-2013, 03:27 AM
FourT2

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Starting with completely cleansed paint, I like using this sealant:

Optimum Opti-Seal - 8 oz | Free Shipping Available - Detailed Image

then follow up with this wax:
Blackfire Midnight Sun Ivory Carnauba Paste Wax - 7.4 oz | Free Shipping Available - Detailed Image