Car Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Can Some Pro Detailers Comment on a Newb's First Full Detail?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2013, 12:52 PM
KENNEDY

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Can Some Pro Detailers Comment on a Newb's First Full Detail?

Hey Guys

I'll be forward and say I'm a newb when it comes to detailing- The most I've done is maintained weekly wash and monthly sealant, and religiously reading this forum lol.

But I just ordered my first brand new (black) car and wanted to start off with the best care to keep the paint perfect and help prevent swirls. So any advice/confirmation would be greatly appreciated!

Here's the process I'm considering:
1. Be careful and let the paint finish curing/gassing out for a coule weeks (since it will be off the truck into my garage).

2. Wash with MG's GC shampoo, dry with waffle weave mf towel.

3. Clay with Clay Magic Blue Fine Grade and a solution of ONR & water.

4. Re-wash.

5. 2-3 Coats of Duragloss 111 with MF application pad.

Then weekly washes, another layer of sealant every month or two, then Clay/Seal again every 6-8 months.

Also, I decided on Duragloss 111 because I'm most concerned with long lasting, and what I've read lead me to believe on a well prepped surface, this sealant combines durability as well as the suran wrap look that I like.

Again, any advice would be greatly appreciated to ease my mind that I'm doing it right!

Thanks
Old 02-13-2013, 02:45 PM
IPL 370GT

Received 110 Likes on 81 Posts
The paint will be cured before it makes it into your garage.

If you're not somewhat familiar with detailing, that new black car is will make and break you . I've used many products over the years. Zaino is by far my favorite brand. With the exception of a few meguiars productions in the cabinet, Zaino waxes seem to be the best for my Malbec Black color. Interior I usually stick with Chemical Guys, Aerospace and Lexol for the seats.