Car Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Should I Even Use a Machine Buffer?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2012, 05:15 PM
LoveLife

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I Even Use a Machine Buffer?

I'm fairly new to the art of detailing, and from what I picked up so far is that machine buffers are used primarily for paint correction, or polishing. I have a $20 orbital machine buffer that I picked up from Auto Zone; my question is this: If I have a car that is in good paint condition with no swirls or marring, should I even bother to use my machine buffer to apply my wax? My machine, being a low cost brand, does not boast of high speeds that may risk damaging the paint. What do you think? Thank you.
Old 07-10-2012, 05:22 PM
superchargedg

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The cheap orbital machine buffers are only good for applying wax as they have not enough power to do anything else.If you need to correct any paint defects they wont do you any good at all as they are just used to speed up the waxing process.
Old 07-10-2012, 05:44 PM
trcb777

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
You really dont need an orbital buffer to apply wax. You will need one when you need to do some paint correction.
Old 07-10-2012, 05:46 PM
trcb777

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Autogeek.net has all info in the world about detailing.
Old 07-10-2012, 06:34 PM
jon23

Originally Posted by trcb777
Autogeek.net has all info in the world about detailing.
^+1

That's where I get all my stuff. Be careful, or your bank account will be empty in just a few hours of reading their tips!

If your car has been washed at car washes, or the regular way, you my friend have swirls on your paint. Maybe due to your paint color you cannot see them, but believe me they are there...

This comes from a guy who owns a OB G37...
Old 07-10-2012, 09:25 PM
Dark Sarcasm