Car Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Clear plexiglass/acrylic (whatever it is) covering the dash...+ a few more ??s

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2008, 10:20 AM
girlwithaG

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clear plexiglass/acrylic (whatever it is) covering the dash...+ a few more ??s

Excuse my improper terminology, I am new at this and just got my G last night.

As I was driving it home from the dealership these waterspots/stains on the clear panel covering the gas gauge, odometer, etc were driving me absolutely insane. I tried to fix it but OF COURSE it has to be inside...making it extremely difficult to be able to simply wipe it away. Anyone have a solution to this? How hard would it be to get access to the inside of this thing? I wouldn't care so much but the waterspots are right smack dab in the middle of the glass and more than noticeable, even during the day.

Any help is appreciated.

Dealer did a $hitty job waxing. There's white streaks all over my rubber from the wax. Also, most people will probably tell me there's no solution to this, but my car was a demo so it's showing some wear and I want to get it back up to par. The aluminum strip in the gearshift, if this is real aluminum, scratches should buff right out, right? Or have I been misinformed? Also scratches on my door handle that are driving me nuts. Any way to fix these little imperfections?

TIA.
Old 08-19-2008, 10:31 AM
IP37

bodyshop scratched my shift **** up, i fixed that with a scotch brite pad and some sandpaper
Old 08-19-2008, 10:33 AM
girlwithaG

Originally Posted by IP37
bodyshop scratched my shift **** up, i fixed that with a scotch brite pad and some sandpaper
sweet, thank you. one down
Old 08-19-2008, 10:58 AM
IP37

Originally Posted by girlwithaG
sweet, thank you. one down
door handle should be the same way, but you'd probably have a hard time matching the finish. i'd brush the whole piece and give it a brushed aluminum look