Buying & Leasing Interested in getting a G37? Ask your Questions in here.

Looking into buying a G37S, anyone have experience with IPL?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2011, 12:03 PM
nopistons93

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking into buying a G37S, anyone have experience with IPL?

Hey guys,

Little background on myself, I'm a graduate student at Clemson University studying nuclear environmental engineering. I'm currently applying for an active duty job with the navy as a nuclear propulsion officer. If I get this job, I will be making enough income to feasibly purchase a G37S finally . My big question is, should I fork up for a 2011 IPL coupe or should I just go for a 2009-2010 with <15,000 miles on it? Either way, I want a really low mileage car with plenty of warranty left. I've read all the specs on the IPL, and understand that it's not really much of a HP increase, but I do really love the styling and design changes.

Anyone have any thoughts into this? Is the IPL any better at handling, drivability? Is the transmission less notchy than the earlier models? How is the short-throw shifter on it?

Thanks in advance to my questions. By the time I'm able to buy the car (~September/Octoberish) I should be able to get a used 2011 relatively easily for around 40K I'm thinking. Maybe I'm just

-Joe
Old 02-18-2011, 12:13 PM
ScottyBeGood

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
I have an IPL that is sitting on my showroom floor. It has the 7AT, which is probably why it hasn't sold yet, that and the fact that it is the winter time and RWD's are just not selling that well at the moment. Is it a sweet car, absolutely. Would I buy it with a 7AT, not a chance. We have the 6MT version at my other store and that one has more of likely chance of being sold, that one is the Graphite Shadow w/Graphite and red stitching seats, which I prefer more than the Monaco Red leather.