Rollers and Rubbers (View All Posts)

IMPUL brakes review and pics

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2008, 02:02 AM
milelin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IMPUL brakes review and pics

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/437656/6

Here are some pics of my car with the Impul BBK. Have been thinking about this kit since it came out but it took quite a while for me to actually decide on the kit. I was going to go with Brembo’s GT because I liked the look better. I work in the autoparts industry here so I am fortunate enough to compare most systems side by side. Through a very special connection from Japan I was able to get them at a great price directly from IMPUL so I decided to go for it. The IMPUL bbk is actually made by Endless but with a few touches of their own. Here are a few things neat about the Impul system, and why it retails for nearly 10K in the U.S:

- I knew the forged calipers will be lighter then brembo’s GT and AP’s cause they were casted. (Yes, don’t let people fool you, they are not forged calipers.. Brembo and AP do offer CNC calipers but mostly for full track use only and you don’t really see them anyways). But the impul;s are lighter then I expected. The front 6 piston only weigh 3.3kg each while the rear weighs 2.6kg each. The top of the line racing CNC 6 pistons from project u weigh in at 4Kg so you get the idea. For comparison, the OE akebono units weigh in at 6.3 kg front and 3.5 kg rear. Unlike most other systems, IMPUL calipers are not painted for better heat transfer properties. The color is what you get directly after heat treatment.