Teach me about coilovers like im a 5 year old

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2013, 04:30 PM
blazeplacid

Received 39 Likes on 38 Posts
Teach me about coilovers like im a 5 year old

Im totally new to coilovers and suspensions in general.

I can do a brake jobs, fluid swaps, and most easy to medium DIY jobs.

My biggest strength is audio. I can wire an entire car in an afternoon and tune it well enough to make you cry when you listen to Eric Clapton.

Im purchasing BC BR coil overs. Agian im new to this so im sure there are coil overs that are worlds better.

My main goal is to lower my car to what I think is right.

As far as the install, I know you are basically removing bolts and then reinstalling the entire coil and shock / strut assembly. I have done shocks on many cars.

This is my first time upgrading to coil overs.
I dont understand some of the terminology.

I know what camber and toe are....but I dont know how to adjust it.
I understand I need to take my car to an alignment shop so they can optimize my camber.
I am buying a SPC rear camber kit. Im assuming I can install the camber kit and the shop will adjust the camber kit length for me?

What is preload?

What exactly do I just to adjust the hieght of my car? I understand I will get spanner wrenches with my coil covers. Where do I go from there?

Do I need an alignment everytime I adjust my coil overs?

Whats the key to getting your car lowered and having it be nice and even?
How can I get my camber to be spot on so that my tires dont wear out fast?

I know these maybe stupid questions to some of you but I will gladly help you in the future if you need any audio help
Old 09-21-2013, 06:33 PM
nycty

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts