Please Help Re: potential suspension damage/potholes

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2011, 08:18 PM
wooway

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please Help Re: potential suspension damage/potholes

Greetings, everyone in the forum. I am new here and hope to be on here for some time to come and thank you for reading this in advance. I am not a car expert and don't have the capacity to work on the car myself due to apartment setting, lack of apparatus, acquantinces of like mind, or such. So unfortunately I am beholden to St. Louis mechanics, shops, and the dreaded dealer, but I guess I work with what I can.

I am new to the forum and glad to find a group. There seem to be fewer
than I had thought there would be when I got our 2010 G37x AWD. After 5~ months we have ~4,000 miles on it and loving it. Very very impressed (outside of the paint) and well-valued.

I am a previous owner of an amazing 2006 Audi TT 3.2Q S-Line. I babied and kept well maintained/immaculate the car, and enjoyed the heck out of it over 5 years. Highly recommended if you guys ever get the itch for another or second car.. Just a bit of FYI.

I know for sure I'd seen the local higher end car mechanic 20+ times over 5 years for alignments, rebalancing/tire rotation, and suspension inspections due to quite literally horrific road conditions here in St. Louis. All in all the worst as far as permaneant damage the TT came through with until the day we traded it in or the G37x was a bent rim... luckily it was usually just costs to realign and balance, etc. ALthough this was quite expensive and money I didn't have over the years. These nicer and finer tuned German/Japanese cars are meant to drive on smooth German/Autobahn type conditions as the rule, not roads/highways in cracked/potholed/disrepair as is the Midwest from all my extensive driving, as I can tell..

Anyway, sorry to belabor points I'm sure many have heard before.