Can I get a G37S suspension on a G37x?

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2009, 09:48 PM
pnk
Registered Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can I get a G37S suspension on a G37x?

Hello everyone,

Newbie here considering buying a G37. I test drove both the G37x and G37S yesterday.

Since I live in the snow-belt and wanted the G37x, I drove that first. Liked the engine, but the suspension was too soft for me, as the car understeered everywhere. Note that my current car is a Subaru WRX with a stiffened suspension so I am willing to give up some comfort for the right performance.

The salesman had just joined Inifiniti and said that there was a sport package available, but they only had a G37S 6MT available, and would I like to take that out for a spin? So I did, and I absolutely loved it. Great turn-in, strong brakes. It would be an ideal car if I lived in a warm climate. But I was more than willing to buy an automatic G37x with that suspension.

So after the test-drive the salesman realized his error and stated that the G37x does not have a stiffer suspension with its sport package. That soured me on the deal.

But I am wondering how difficult it would be to retrofit a stiffer suspension on the G37x? Is it just a difference in sway bars? Or is it more involved than that?

pnk
Old 06-28-2009, 10:21 PM
Mike S.

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
It probably can be done. The X rides a smidge higher than the standard and sport versions. Call riverside infiniti. I don't think there is a difference in sway bars or bushings, just in springs/shocks. Also, the S has sticky summer tires and the X has all seasons, probably a lot less grippy.
Old 06-28-2009, 10:46 PM
Staples

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by Mike S.