Notices
Body Interior Exterior Lighting

Xirallic in Smoky Quartz paint?

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2012, 03:59 PM
Marina Blue

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Xirallic in Smoky Quartz paint?

Does anyone know if Infiniti uses Xirallic in the Smoky Quartz paint formula?

Thanks for the help.
Old 12-18-2012, 07:14 PM
JPSBLACKG37

Received 85 Likes on 57 Posts
I paint cars for a living and have never heard of that.

What's the paint code ill look it up for you tomorrow at work
Old 12-18-2012, 08:22 PM
Marina Blue

Originally Posted by JPSBLACKG37

What's the paint code ill look it up for you tomorrow at work
Color code for Smoky Quartz is KAC

Thanks for your quick reply.
Old 12-18-2012, 08:48 PM
Marina Blue

Xirallic is a pigment which gives paint a vivid, lustrous look that was never before possible. It is made in Japan by Merck. As of now, the Japan operation is the only plant in the world that makes this product. That is why after the tsunami there, every major auto manufacturer stopped painting colors with this pigment. The plant had been shut down. There is no substitute for Xirallic. The plant is operating at full capacity again. Supposedly another plant will be built in Germany so that supply will not be interrupted again.

Here is Merck's Xirallic web-site: Merck Performance Materials - Xirallic
Old 12-18-2012, 09:12 PM
JPSBLACKG37

Ridiculous. Just did some research on the Spies Hecker paints I use everyday and some of the higher end pearls we are are in fact xirallics, but are not labeled xirallics in any way!

They are definately more brilliant than your standard pearls.

What is the paint code? I will look it up
Old 12-19-2012, 01:24 AM
Track Bandit

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Todays Paints