Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, satellite radio or aftermarket stereos

Help After Sub/amp install car wouldnt start

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2009, 10:53 AM
weetodid09

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
After Sub/amp install car wouldnt start

I'm a new member, but I have been browsing for a while now. The search for nonmembers wasn't working so I decided to register

I have to questions about sub/amp install and I'm a noob.

1.) I am tapping into wire 8 and 9 from the bose amp for my amp inputs. I have a dual RCA cable that came with my kit. How should I connect the positive and negatives to the RCA? So I have 2 wires from bose amp, and 4 wires to connect them to. Right now I have the positive from the bose going to both positives on the dual RCA, and the negative from the bose going to both negatives on the RCA. Is that correct? The subs are moving, but they are really distorted and I had a little bit of a electrical problem following ( second question)

2.) After I had everything setup, and the sub was bumping (with bad distortion) I decided to call it a night. So I went to reset my windows cause they werent rolling all the way up. Well then the amp started flickering between on and protection mode. Turned the car off cause I had no idea what was happening. I went to turn the car back to ON, and it died. I disconnected battery, disconnected everything from the amp, and tried again and got nothing. I tried to actually start the car, and only got maybe half a crank. Ended up jumping the car, to get it started.

Question is, what happened? I thought maybe there was short but I couldnt find anything. Is it possible that I have a bad ground and it somehow threw everything off. Or did I drain my battery somehow?

The odd thing is that I could get the car to the ACC state and the radio played. But as soon as I hit ON, it crapped out.