Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, satellite radio or aftermarket stereos

Help Viper 5901 Remote Start Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2009, 05:51 PM
Magix15

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Viper 5901 Remote Start Questions

Hi. I have an automatic Infiniti G37S w/ Intelligent Key. I've been searching the internet but haven't found any straight answers regarding remote start systems for this car. I am a complete newbie to this technology so any advice or help would be appreciated.

I bought a Viper 5901 Security and Remost Start system recently. I am told that I will also need a bypass module. Either the 'DEI-1101t' or 'DEI-PKALL'. Is this true? How much does it cost? Where can I buy it? Is that all I'll need for the installation?

Second, where can I get it installed? The Infiniti dealership? Car Toys? BestBuy? I've heard those mentioned in other threads and sites. I live in the Seattle, WA area. Anybody with a suggestion would be great. Car Toys was the only one to give me a quote of $400 to get it completely installed.

Does installation void the manufacturer warranty? Yes or no? I've heard A LOT of different answers. Preferrably someone who's done it can answer this.

Thanks!
Old 03-27-2009, 06:21 PM
oOmikeyboy
Florida G35 Club, Premier Member

Ok let me explain my situation to you.

I also ordered a viper 5901 with remote start on a 6spd manual transmission. about a week or two ago, I ordered the alarm, and 4 different modules from amazon.com for a fairly good deal. What i had was:
-viper 5901 alarm & remote start
-DEI xpresskit DLPK (the bypass module)
-dei window automation kit
-tilt sensor
-audio sensor
-backup battery
-proximity sensor

Then i called a few places, and i was quoted... 199 + 35 each module from best buy. this one place quoted me 600 for labor alone (lol), and this one place told me 295 installed. So thats where i went...