Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, satellite radio or aftermarket stereos

Invisible Mobile Radio Installation

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 06:11 PM
ukoner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Invisible Mobile Radio Installation

I am an Amateur Radio operator (Ham). Living in the Yukon where cell coverage is only available in 11 communities and within 5 minutes of driving outside of any of them it no longer works, having an alternative communication system is very important.

When I purchased my G37 I wanted to install a radio system in the car, but I didn't want to 'mess' with the style or lines of the car - you can imagine the look a 6' whip would add! Through some research I came across an interesting antenna design by US Communications. They custom make invisible bumper and license plate antennas for various applications - including the dual band (2m/70cm) version that I ordered from them (http://www.licenseplateantenna.com/). On hand already was an Icom IC-208H dual band radio whose key feature for this application is an exceptionally small remote face plate.

The antenna when ordered can be specified for a front and rear license plate attachment, front or rear only, or just wires in the bumper (no attachment to the license plate). In my case, it was configured with a rear license plate attachment (there are no front plates in the Yukon) and a wire only for the front. The wires for the front as well as the ground plane wire for the rear is installed on top of the energy absorbing material (usually some form of Styrofoam) and underneath the skin on the bumper.

Through reading several threads on this site, and having downloaded the service manual, I was ready to dive in. The install was done in three steps - the front bumper antenna install, the rear license plate antenna install, the interior radio install. A seperate post for each step follows...

Here's a picture of the car.