Car Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Using ONR

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2007, 09:18 PM
chocoholic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Using ONR

I'm nervous about scratching my car while using ONR as a waterless wash. The car has only accumulated dust and light dirt from being out on the road (no rain or anything), but I can't help but feel like I'm going to scratch the hell out of it when I do this. I'm a newbie with waterless washes. How can this work? Tips?
Old 10-16-2007, 11:36 PM
KAHBOOM
Super Moderator of Pwnage

Received 195 Likes on 139 Posts
Hmm I have heared about this no rinse was and have been reluctant to try anything other thanmy traditional method. I wonder what I pro would say about it
Old 10-17-2007, 12:28 AM
Orbie

I have used ONR for two years on my G35 and now on my G37 I have used it 3 times already. No additional scratches that weren't already from the dealership detailers when I took delivery.

It is a very wierd feeling to use it for the first time though. Make sure you have absolutely clean microfiber towels, one for the wash and one to dry each panel one at a time. Also I like to use the two bucket method to ensure I don't carry over dirt from my car to the clean water. For your first time use lots of ONR solution when you wipe down each panel with minimal pressure. Using a clean microfiber towel just blot the remaining water off. The dry panel should feel almost like it has just been waxed. ONR leaves a slick residue behind.

If your car is very dirty or muddy, I would recommend using a hose to spray extra dirt off the car first. The dirtier your MF towel gets the more frequently you should be rinsing it off, so for very dirty panels you will need to rinse often. Hosing the car off first makes the job a lot easier and minimizes the chance you'll scratch the paint with excess dirt on the towel.